Too growed up?

Honestly? No. I'm sixteen and when there's a day off college or my six year old cousin's over, I'm just as keen as her to watch Tarzan or A Bug's Life. Being six months away from applying for universities, I'm in a world constantly filled with questions about my future and where it's going. Where do I want to go? What do I want to be? While I've finally decided on writing novels and journalism, its taken me fairly long to make up my mind. All this focus on my future has made me wonder whether I really need to grow up and become a professional adult. When I'm working, sure. But when I'm relaxing, I'll still laugh at silly words like poo and bottom. I'll still curl up in front of Disney films with friends. I'll still be me. In our house, there's a calendar up in the kitchen. One month, it said: Growing old is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

Powered by Plinky

4 thoughts on “Too growed up?

  1. The piece you just posted for Picture It & Write was very well-written, Khadija! I’m looking forward to seeing what else you write! I recommend reposting the picture and the story on your page with a link back to Ermilia’s page.

Leave a Reply

